Happy Camp NaNoWriMo!

Today is the official start of Camp NaNoWriMo (July Session), and I am glad to finally have everyone else joining me in the pain fun of writing a novel! My own writing went pretty quickly and smoothly today, mainly because I picked up the pace of the story and had an inadvertent extra scene which caused my two main characters to sit in awkward silence for a bit, relieving me of the torture opportunity of writing all that dialogue. I am also proud of myself for coming up with a creative solution to a problem. My character wanted to swim across a lake, but could not swim, so I came up with a way to get her there without her swimming or drowning. I was extremely tempted to just skip that part and figure it out later, but I am glad I didn’t, because it led to the funny awkward scene instead.

I think my book is skewing very much young adult. I certainly don’t mind, but it wasn’t what I intended originally. The characters are themselves teenagers, so it is just natural that it has a teenaged voice to it. But perhaps that will change in the second half of the book, as they are forced to grow up rather quickly.

Now, Dear Reader, back to writing! May your novel flow easily from your fingertips!

 

Leave a comment