NaNoWriMo 2014 – Week 1

It’s November again, and that means it’s National Novel Writing Month! I am participating again this year, and you can follow along with my progress using the handy calendar in the sidebar. The first week started off with a bang, as I hit 6K the first two days. It helped that it started over a weekend, and that there were two writing meets on Saturday. I had held a pre-novel party two days earlier, a “wild” affair with lots of drinking of Orangina and playing of Rock Band until eleven p.m. and I needed recovery time, so I didn’t get a midnight Friday start like some people, but Saturday was a roaring start. The rest of the week wasn’t so bad. I was glad to have built up a lead because I knew with Thanksgiving at the end of the month, it would be really easy to finish with a whimper. But I made my word count every day– until last night. I just couldn’t write. I managed three words, the start of a sentence that I never finished. The first week ended up on target, but I blew the lead I had built up.

Today was a good start to week two, however, as I got to go to another writing meet, and managed 2K, breaking through some of the difficult section. I have a feeling the next three days are going to determine whether I finish this novel or not. Week two is always the hardest. The most important thing you can do is to simply not give up in week two. Keep scratching those words out, knowing that everyone is hating their novel at this point, that everyone has gaping plot holes that make them want to scream, and that everything can be fixed later. If you never push through it to get to week three, then you’ll never finish the novel.

So I’ll push through and go to another meet tomorrow and try to get a little lead back because I might meet another rainy day like yesterday.

Leave a Reply

